KUMAS Leitprojekt 2020

Green Factory | The CO2-neutral Factory

Award: „KUMAS Leitprojekt 2020“ for „Green Factory | The  CO2-neutral Factory“ of the Alois-Müller-Group

Every year, the KUMAS – Competence Center for the Environment association honors three exemplary environmental projects. This year, the jury’s choice included the Green Factory of the Alois Müller Group. In the Green Factory, the entire production, manufacturing and administration is designed to be CO2-neutral. A convincing concept, agreed the KUMAS jurors.

“We are very pleased about this award, because innovative and active environmental protection is more important today than ever before. However, the changeover to resource- and cost-efficient production is less complicated than many people suspect,” explained Andreas Müller, CEO, at the award ceremony.

The background: industry and commerce are responsible for around 25 % of greenhouse gas emissions in Germany. In order to achieve climate neutrality, these emissions can either be offset at additional cost through climate-neutral projects or measures can be taken at the site to ensure that greenhouse gas emissions are reduced as far as possible – ideally 100%. The Green Factory concept implemented in Ungerhausen, which includes the use of solar power, sophisticated demand side management (load control), sector coupling and an internal smart grid, is a perfect example of how a CO2-neutral production environment can be achieved in practice.

“Our Green Factory is unique in Germany so far – but it doesn’t have to stay that way. Quite the contrary: The Green Factory concept can be adapted to almost all companies in Germany,” explains Müller. Companies who are interested in finding out for themselves can visit the Green Factory. “If required, we also present all components with the necessary key figures,” Müller continues.

Award "KUMAS Leitprojekt 2020"

The Green Factory went into operation in summer 2019. Here, the Alois Müller Group manufactures ventilation ducts and supply components for plant construction, such as piping systems made of steel and stainless steel, energy centers in container design and energy module systems. More than 250 people work on the premises in the production and administration areas. With the self-produced electricity in the Green Factory, the Alois Müller Group also operates its own electric filling station at the Ungerhausen site, which is also available to external vehicles.

Further information under KUMAS Leitprojekte 2020 as well as on the CO2-neutral factory “Green Factory” in our Alois Müller story Green Factory | Best-Practice in Ressource- and Cost Efficiency and in the VDI (ZRE) film „The CO2-neutral Factory“.

About KUMAS

Since its foundation, KUMAS UMWELTNETZWERK has been supporting environmental projects throughout Bavaria. Innovations for active environmental protection are thus made visible to everyone and promoted in their market launch. For this reason, since 1998 KUMAS e. V. has been awarding prizes for innovative processes, products, services, plants, developments or research results that radiate environmental competence to a special degree.

Innovation content, design quality and improving environmental properties have the same priority in the evaluation by an independent jury as the increase in resource efficiency. The award-winning lead projects will be presented in the media, on the website of the KUMAS-UmweltNETZWERK for one year in a way that is effective in terms of publicity at KUMAS trade congresses, trade fairs and network events.

Promotion of outstanding environmental competence

KUMAS has the goal of sustainably improving the quality of the environment, life and work in Bavaria as well as the economic performance of its members. For this reason, KUMAS has been awarding the distinction “Official Lead Project of the KUMAS UMWELTNETZWERK” since its foundation in 1998. Leading projects originate basically from Bavaria, have improving characteristics with regard to environment and resources and contribute to sustainable development.

LP Logo 2020

KUMAS Leitprojekt 2020

Green Factory | Die CO2-neutrale Fabrik

Auszeichnung: „KUMAS Leitprojekt 2020“ für „Green Factory | Die CO2-neutrale Fabrik“ der Alois-Müller-Gruppe

Der Förderverein KUMAS – Kompetenzzentrum für Umwelt e.V. zeichnet jedes Jahr drei vorbildliche Umweltprojekte aus. In diesem Jahr fiel die Wahl der Jury unter anderem auf die Green Factory der Alois-Müller-Gruppe. In der grünen Fabrik wird die gesamte Produktion, Fertigung und Verwaltung CO2-neutral gestaltet. Ein überzeugendes Konzept, fanden die KUMAS-Juroren.

„Wir freuen uns sehr über diese Auszeichnung, denn ein innovativer und aktiver Umweltschutz ist heute wichtiger denn je. Dabei ist die Umstellung auf eine ressourcen- und kosteneffiziente Produktion gar nicht so umständlich, wie viele vermuten“, erklärte Geschäftsführer Andreas Müller im Rahmen der Auszeichnungsverleihung.

Der Hintergrund: Industrie und Gewerbe verursachen in Deutschland rund 25 % der Treibhausgasemissionen. Um zur Klimaneutralität zu gelangen, können diese Emissionen entweder mit zusätzlichen Kosten über klimaneutrale Projekte kompensiert oder Maßnahmen am Standort ergriffen werden, die eine möglichst weitgehende Reduzierung der Treibhausgasemissionen – im Idealfall 100 % – sicherstellen. Das in Ungerhausen realisierte Konzept der Green Factory mit der Erzeugung von Solarstrom, einem ausgeklügelten Demand Side Management (Laststeuerung), Sektorenkopplung und internem smart grid zeigt in mustergültiger Weise auf, wie sich eine CO2-neutrale Produktionsumgebung auch in der Praxis realisieren lässt.

„Unsere Green Factory ist bisher deutschlandweit einzigartig – das muss aber nicht so bleiben. Im Gegenteil: Das Konzept der Green Factory, ist für nahezu alle Unternehmen in Deutschland adaptierbar“, erklärt Müller. Unternehmen, die sich davon selbst überzeugen wollen, können die Green Factory besichtigen. „Wir stellen bei Bedarf auch alle Komponenten mit den erforderlichen Kennzahlen vor“, so Müller weiter.

3154e19e-2b5e-4724-9c38-e09dd1b92cb4
Preis

Im Sommer 2019 ging die Green Factory in Betrieb. In ihr fertigt die Alois-Müller-Gruppe Lüftungskanäle und versorgungstechnische Komponenten des Anlagenbaus wie Rohrleitungssysteme aus Stahl und Edelstahl, Energiezentralen in Containerbauweise und Energiemodulsysteme. Mehr als 250 Menschen arbeiten auf dem Betriebsgelände im Bereich der Fertigung und der Verwaltung. Mit dem selbst produzierten Strom in der Green Factory betreibt die Alois-Müller-Gruppe zudem eine eigene E-Tankstelle am Standort Ungerhausen, die auch betriebsfremden Fahrzeugen zur Verfügung steht.

Weitere Information unter KUMAS Leitprojekte 2020 sowie zur CO2-neutralen Fabrik „Green Factory“ in unserer Alois-Müller-Story Green Factory | Best-Practice in Ressourcen- und Kosteneffizienz und im Film „Die CO2-neutrale Fabrik“ des VDI (ZRE).

Über KUMAS

Seit seiner Gründung unterstützt das KUMAS UMWELTNETZWERK Umweltprojekte in ganz Bayern. Innovationen für den aktiven Umweltschutz werden so für jedermann sichtbar und in der Markteinführung gefördert. Deshalb zeichnet KUMAS e. V. seit 1998 innovative Verfahren, Produkte, Dienstleistungen, Anlagen, Entwicklungen oder Forschungsergebnisse, die in besonderem Maße Umweltkompetenz ausstrahlen, aus.

Innovationsgehalt, Gestaltungsqualität und verbessernde Umwelteigenschaften stehen bei der Bewertung durch eine unabhängige Jury genauso im Vordergrund wie die Steigerung der Ressourceneffizienz. Die ausgezeichneten Leitprojekte werden öffentlichkeitswirksam ein Jahr lang in den Medien, auf der Internetseite des KUMAS-UMWELTNETZWERKS im Rahmen der KUMAS-Fachkongresse, Messeauftritten und den Netzwerkveranstaltungen präsentiert.

Förderung herausragender Umweltkompetenz

KUMAS hat das Ziel, die Umwelt-, Lebens- und Arbeitsplatzqualität in Bayern sowie die wirtschaftliche Leistungsfähigkeit seiner Mitglieder nachhaltig zu verbessern. Deshalb vergibt KUMAS seit der Gründung im Jahr 1998 die Auszeichnung »Offizielles Leitprojekt des KUMAS UMWELTNETZWERKS«. Leitprojekte stammen grundsätzlich aus Bayern, besitzen verbessernde Eigenschaften in Bezug auf Umwelt und Ressourcen und tragen zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung bei.

LP-Logo-Jahreszahlen-bis2020.indd